Tattoos and the Urban Legend

Here’s a very informative article in CNN about the Jewish perspective on the fashion.

“I’d say, ‘If you get a tattoo, you can’t be buried in a Jewish cemetery,’ ” said Ms. Carnes, the owner of a video equipment company in Carlsbad, Calif.

My theory is that by getting a tattoo you run the risk of becoming addicted.

Three times I was tattooed. First time was in 1978, second and third in 1983. Through the years I’ve watched the incredible contagion that’s taken place, especially among young people in the 80s and 90s. It became more than a fad. It became practically mandatory in certain places. Getting a tattoo is addictive. Take my own case, for example. After that first time, I thought about it a lot. A few years later, bang, bang, I went twice practically in a row. Since then I’ve almost gone a few more times, and have carried the idea in the back of my mind always. I wonder how many people have only one and have never considered another?

Here’s what the BBC had to say about it in October of last year.

Explore posts in the same categories: american culture, drugs, good old days, religion, the bizarre

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Tattoos and the Urban Legend”

  1. B.E. Earl Says:

    I only have one, which I got about 3 years ago.

    I’ve thought about getting another, but I haven’t decided on anything important enough yet to have permanently inked on my body.

  2. 358 Says:

    Great Celtic Tattoo Designs
    News

  3. mikeb302000 Says:

    Earl, I’ve seen yours on the blog. What is that some kind of Scottish thing? It looks great. If you only got it three years ago, that means you resisted all through the height of the fad. That’s interesting.

  4. B.E. Earl Says:

    The sheild is an Irish family crest and the bird is a Bird of Paradise…nothing to do with the crest, I just liked it. Yeah…I managed to wait until I was 39 to get my tattoo. Had to be something that meant alot to me.


Leave a Reply

