Why I’m a Vegetarian

One day I realized the only way I was able to continue eating meat was by not considering where it came from. Once in a while I’d see something on the news or hear someone say something that would snap me out of my lethargy. I didn’t like the idea that as far as my eating habits went, I had an unexamined life.

Sometime after that I became aware of the PETA organization. I often enjoyed reading about the controversial ad campaign they frequently use. Here’s a video narrated by Pamela Anderson, which although it doesn’t employ the usual nudity, starts off with a titillating intro.

Don’t watch this unless you want to feel bad about eating meat. Although Pamela is only talking about chickens, I don’t imagine cows and pigs are treated any better.

Here’s a wonderful article, PETA: Sexy or Sexist posted on Shine from Yahoo, which pretty much covers the controversy

Here’s the site of PETA themselves.

I’d love to hear your opinion. Please feel free to comment.


Explore posts in the same categories: american culture, food and nutrition

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Why I’m a Vegetarian”

  1. B.E. Earl Says:

    I’ll quote Denis Leary here:

    “Not eating meat is a decision. Eating meat is instinct. I’ll never stop eating red meat, because red meat tastes like murder. And murder tastes pretty fucking good!”

    All kidding aside, I know what you mean. Whenever I think about where meat comes from I get real guilty, especially seeing as how I am such an animal lover. I don’t know if turning veggie is gonna happen for me. I love the meat. But it would make sense.

  2. mikeb302000 Says:

    Earl, Thanks for that great quote – made me laugh, and for your thoughtful comment.


Leave a Reply

