The Canadian Bus Killer – Cannibal

In this CNN report, there are even more grisly details of the Canadian bus beheading. It now turns out the attacker actually ate parts of his victim.

I agree with this comment posted by Simplejewel over at Feministe, which reads in part:

And what I think upsets me the most is how detailed all the news reports are. Discussions of decapitation, blood flying and now cannibalism are absolutely disturbing and in my opinion, completely unnecessary. I don’t think I need you to tell me that the witnesses were vomiting all over the place.

Yet, I guess I’m as fascinated as everyone else.

Rest in Peace, Tim McLean.

Explore posts in the same categories: american culture, the bizarre

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “The Canadian Bus Killer – Cannibal”

  1. Bob S. Says:

    Mike,

    I guess I agree that the information shouldn’t be published in such detail. In my opinion that only encourages those that would be copy cat killers.

    Many of the blogs I read, won’t mention the killer’s name any more than possible. I think this is a great idea, take away the notoriety of the killer and his act. Let’s not glorify the act or the actor.

    There is a fascination to read about how low a person can sink, but I think the major media is the wrong place for that. There are professional journals, publications that most people can find online; make it a dry analytical discussion of the crime instead of splashing all the details on the 5 O’clock news or the daily paper.

  2. Simplejewel Says:

    Thank you for the shout-out! I’m glad SOMEONE agrees with me. Although it seems that the media outlets have geared it down quite a bit in the last few days. I’m hoping it’s a result of backlash and not because they ran to the next story.


  3. […] According to this story in CNN, the Canadian bus cannibal is asking to be killed himself. In my last posting about this case, we engaged in a great discussion about gun control, whether an armed passenger might not have been […]


Leave a comment