Anthrax and Bruce Ivins’ suicide

This video really got me thinking.

What’s with this Robin Meade? Is she a regular on TV? Not living in the States spares me from having to know some of these nearly insupportable characters. It seems to me she’s got a touch of the Bratz Doll trying to talk like a Valley Girl. “It was like he was two different people.”

But the real problem I have with this report is it’s Bruce Ivins’ therapist who’s quoted. Apparently the therapist is not bound by confidentiality. Is that because the patient recently died, supposedly by suicide?

The LA Times has the story as written by David Willman.

Ivins died Tuesday at Frederick Memorial Hospital after ingesting a massive dose of prescription Tylenol mixed with codeine, said a friend and colleague, who declined to be identified out of concern that he would be harassed by the FBI.

Over at Hullabaloo, dday sums it up like this:

There’s clearly going to be a sustained effort to close this case, finger Ivins as the killer, and turn away from any of the lingering questions. That would be a huge mistake.

Explore posts in the same categories: american culture, American politics, foreign affairs, the bizarre, the spin, world politics

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Anthrax and Bruce Ivins’ suicide”

  1. B.E. Earl Says:

    I hate to be a conspiracy theorist, but that’s the first thing that came to mind when they say they found the Anthrax Killer and that he had killed himself.

    Sounds like an easy out to me.

  2. Bob S. Says:

    Mike,

    I notice that you say you aren’t living in the States. Mind if I ask where you are currently living and if you are originally from the States?

  3. Thomas Says:

    My aunt was a biochem lab tech for decades at Fort D and worked with the man. She’ says NO WAY! He was not ever that sort. Somebody is closing a book with the wrong name as the author.

  4. Thomas Says:

    http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=96355

    Check the acknowledgements…one of them is my aunt.

    I believe her that this was a setup or he freaked out because he was being investigated, not that he did it. There were pelnty of people who had access to the labs (maintenance, MPs, etc.). Wasn’t him.

  5. mikeb302000 Says:

    Thanks for the comments everybody. I think these convenient suicides are suspect, to say the least. I put no limits on what the federal government might get up to.

    Bob S., I’m going to update my About Page. When I first wrote it I wasn’t sure how anonymous I wanted to be. To answer your question, I’m an expat living in Rome Italy for the last 20 years. I grew up in NJ but lived in Santa Monica, Las Vegas and Miami at different times. Thanks for asking. I realize it helps to know a bit about someone’s background in order to understand what they’re saying.


  6. […] this attitude make me a conspiracy theorist?  I hinted at it in my other post about this. Maybe it’s like that old joke: “Just because you’re paranoid […]

  7. Thomas Says:

    I’m not a conspiracy theorist, I know people that worked at USAMRIID, the NIH, and the CDC. I’m a conspiracy believer on this one.

    He was a quiet person that liked to volunteer for church things and juggle.

    When the FBI can get somebody that isn’t a drunken substance abuse counselor to make a deposition, they are free to do so.

    What are the odds? I’m guessing NONE.

    Railroad. Enjoy your Fourth Reich.


Leave a Reply

